Lost Hunters Sanctum
Sign in to follow this  
YautjaKShai

Dreads & Beads

I have been working on a number of projects this summer, I just wanted to share, as  I really don't think I've shared these here!

I am just starting out with all of this and this whole summer I've been learning airbrushing, sculpting, molding & casting. I have been learning to work with foam, latex, and resin, as well as acrylic paints and painting latex.  I am working towards doing a 1:1 display piece, too. 

I started with trying to mess with making foam dreads this summer, which was a disaster, but a great learning lesson.  I made 20 dreads and 3 of them came out seamless and perfect, but I wasted a ton of materials and destroyed my molds (can you say complete newbie with no idea what the heck I'm doing? :/:/).  I tackled making dreads again just last weekend, and I had great success.  Still made a bunch of learning mistakes, but I finally have a full set of dreads to use on that 1:1 display piece!  LOL!

I also sculpted and casted up beads - I currently have 8 different styles, but I only have pictures of 7 so far.  One of the people who bought some of the beads from me asked me to make a Berserker style bead for the dread tips, so I made my first hollow / roto- cast resin beads!  I think I am getting better at sculpting, molding and casting.  :D  I am having a lot of fun playing around with all of this, and learning my way through all my mess ups.